top of page

Starting a Fierce Business During The Pandemic


The odds were against me. I had a planner, a notebook, and tons of ideas to pull my dreams into fruition. Still obtaining my master’s degree in Professional Writing, I felt unsure of myself. Anxiety nibbled at my fingertips as I typed the header to my official website. Valkyrie Visions Writing & Consulting. I knew my core values were in check; I always considered myself empathetic and genuine. I believed strongly that people could aspire to something great with the right confidence and tools. Yet, COVID-19 had just started, and businesses were closing left and right. Fear hovered over me despite my determination to succeed. I hesitated.

My first class at New England College in Henniker, New Hampshire was Creative Nonfiction. I stumbled through ideas and ended up writing a deep, concentrated version of my childhood life. It flashed before my eyes in movie clips. I wrote on the tall trees in our backyard, the troubles I had with depression during high school, and even the comical adventures of riding a skateboard for the first time down a steep hill. The wounds and bruises permeated throughout my writing. This was a masterpiece. A raw, unapologetic way of healing. This essay taught me how to write objectively, whilst growing more confident in the way I wrote. Creative Nonfiction gave me the push I needed to finally put Valkyrie out there for the world to see.

I’m glad I took the leap.

Though it was more of a few little jumps . . .




Valkyrie is not simply a writing and consulting business. It stands for staying fierce through life’s chaos, whether by internal or external forces.

Healing from Dissociation and learning how to ground myself embedded motivation in me to help others do the same. It’s unfair for those suffering to be held back. I offer free tools and advice to those who need a step towards professional success. Within each one of us is a fierce Valkyrie, a Norse mythological warrior who decides what stays and what goes. I believe we have a choice to keep or remove the toxins from our life, and especially focus on mental health. Even during The Pandemic, we can choose to get out of bed and make time for self-care. By doing so, this resonates into our outside lives and can create a cleaner path towards success.

Reviewing my analytics during this time has been the most interesting part of my start-up. I never thought I would reach one-hundred, let alone five-hundred readers on my website and blog. But starting Valkyrie was never about profit. It is about reaching out to those who need help and offering an ear and guidance. And this is why I’m thankful for starting a business during a pandemic.

Though tons of businesses are closed, I’m inspired by those who are creating new ways to reach out to communities. Starting a business during a pandemic does not spell disaster, it challenges you to become more innovative. Maybe capacity is reduced, or maybe you cannot open those doors just yet. This is a challenge to be heard in other ways; to find support in other ways. Throw a virtual fundraiser, offer a free virtual class to your most loyal customers or clients. The internet provides limitless ways to keep your fans in the loop and involved in your cause.

We are lucky to have essential workers who contribute towards a vaccine. Look to them for the inspiration. How much fear they must have had the first time a COVID patient came through their doors. How anxious others must be when their companies open doors to the public. We have securities in place now that can help businesses reopen doors. Belief in yourself should never be suppressed by a virus.

If you want to take the leap and start a business, go for it. Write down your ideas, educate yourself, and create a plan of action. For me, the startup was a slow process. I’m still just a newly graduated professional writer with huge dreams. But none of that should be stopped because of fear.

Quarantining is not hiding. Let them see you, your ideas, your aspirations. Dig deep into your core and pull out the most interesting parts of you. Mix that into your business. Mix that into your marketing attempts. Stand up tall on the battlefield. Dodge the fatal blows just to spite them. We only evolve as an economy if we persist on reaching out to humanity with empathetic reasoning and support. Starting a business is not to prove someone wrong, or something wrong; it is to prove to yourself that you can overcome any obstacle life throws at you.



So stand up and take the veil off. Start your business. Let the world see your brilliance.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page