top of page

The Economy Shuffle



It began with a dream, or a goal, or a stepping stone towards the future. The "submit application" button was clicked. The interviews were had and soon you found yourself in a job that made you feel grateful and excited and hopeful.


Soon after, the news breaks that there's a massive layoff. Because the economy is scary and it's changing, affecting everything and everyone around us. You are one of the many who are cut from the team, or maybe the entire company had to close for some reason.


This just happened to me. and it sucked.


Ever since Covid began, we've all heard stories or have been part of them. The anger is felt, tears might be shed, and expletives are mumbled under heated breaths. Companies country-wide feel the strain of inflation, tight budgets, and even slow markets or lack of inventory. It's everywhere, like its own little pandemic, contagious and frightening. The uncertainty of job security pokes the back of everyone's mind and whispers in a taunting voice, what if you're next?


We are all feeling it, we are all next.


Job loss or not, we are all feeling the affects. The price increases on groceries, the gas price rollercoaster, and all of the emotional and political rainstorms that we deal with on individual / personal levels.


So what the heck do we do? Well, that's the easy part; we help each other. We offer a friendly hand to help bring in those groceries, or bring a family member to their job once in awhile, or take a sick day to be with our children and create long-lasting good memories. These will all outweigh all the bad. Every Single Time. And if we can dedicate an hour a week like this, I swear you will start feeling better about yourself and the world around you. Don't let this uncertain time scare you away from creating memories and small happiness.


Change your mindset. If you don't already believe in yourself, get to it. Remember those dreams you were chasing? Create small steps towards them. They are achievable. Positive vibes attract positive outcomes.


This Happened to Me?


Yes. Yes it did. I wasn't aware it was happening, but it did. And the day of the layoff, I didn't skip a beat. Applications flew out, yes, but they were all catered towards things I'm good at. Banking, writing, communications, consulting. Over the years of my career, I've finally started recognizing my own worth. I know this alone will guide me over this speed bump.


Besides, I've worked too damn hard to give up now. And all of you reading this should remember your worth too. Every one of us has a skill or two and a dream or two. Let's support each other like the Valkyrie we are.


What Next?


If any of you reading need a set of eyes on a resume or cover letter, feel free to submit a request here. I'd be happy to send a brief reply free of charge. From one Valkyrie to another. I'd also be happy to check out anyone else's local business and support when and where I can, so feel free to add me on Facebook to send me your websites.


We got this.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page