top of page

Mount Washington


This year, Aaron, Bastion, and I traveled to the White Mountains for the first time as a family.


I'd been to the White Mountains several times throughout life. I could smell the pine and leaves before we even packed our bags. The mountains called to me with whispering winds. Our journey brought us to multiple destinations. However, the seed was planted in our minds to head to Mount Washington.


In all my time in New Hampshire, I've never been up Mount Washington. There is a train that you can pay for to travel up the mountain, or you can drive. Since the Cog Railway was a bit on the pricey side, Aaron - my adventurous husband - decided the drive would be the best option.


The Drive Begins



I'm not going to lie; I think the drive took about two hours, but I cannot remember. As we drove up, Bastion was in awe at the amount of trees and clouds. The fresh air filled our lungs as if it was the first time we breathed. As we drove higher, the temperature dropped slightly. We rounded sharp corners of the unguarded path, careful not to look down as buildings became smaller. And smaller.


And smaller.


And the ground, trees, and boulders became spots of green and brown. Lines in the earth pointed up smaller mountain sides as we climbed above 5000 feet. Clouds cast shadows, but not in ominous way as shadows usually do. No, these were splotches of oil paint on a canvas I've never before seen.


My eyes were open. All our eyes were open.


I inhaled a sharp breath. Looking out the passenger window, I saw the beauty of the world. I realized how small things could be after seeming so huge for a time. The Five & Dime store was down there somewhere with tiny ant-people lining up to visit. Somewhere, there was a stream or two of fresh water splashing over jagged edges of rocks and smooth stones.



How amazing!


As we reached 7000 feet, a fluffy mess of gray wrapped itself around the mountaintop and Aaron's car. We were inside of a cloud. As we parked at the top, we climbed out to look. Unfortunately, the cloud covering was too thick.


Fortunately, I was inside of a friggin' cloud.


And I hugged Bastion so tightly. He stood still for a moment and I could see wisps of cloud pass by his little body.

The reason I'm sharing this with you, my Valkyrie Family, is not to boast about a vacation. It's to share with you a piece of my life that has defined who I am. That's what life is: a bucketful of tiny moments that make your heart skip a beat.


Same goes for following your dreams and reaching your goals. It's a matter of tiny moments, some greater or more noticeable than others that slowly bring you closer to the top of a mountain.


If you can, head over to Mount Washington. I promise you will love it.


As always,

Stay fierce, Valkyrie

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page